2019-2020 Undergraduate Catalog 
  
    Nov 25, 2020  
2019-2020 Undergraduate Catalog

Tuition and Fees



Payment of Tuition and Fees

Payments of tuition, the college services fee, the student activities fee and applicable mandatory usage fees are expected in accordance with deadlines published in the credit and non-credit tabloids each semester. Special fees and charges must be paid as designated by the College.

All holders of temporary visas (e.g. F, B, J, and H) will be charged the out-of-state tuition rate, unless and until they present evidence of change to permanent resident which may be demonstrated by presentation of the “Notification of Action” form from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services verifying the student’s change of status, or the actual “green card” as well as evidence that establishes Connecticut residency in accordance with state law.

Failure to Pay

The College reserves the right to cancel student registrations for non-payment, but students are responsible for the applicable charges should they fail to formally drop the class(es) from their schedule or withdraw from the College. The College also reserves the right to freeze the records of any students with incomplete payment plans or other obligations to the College.

Students presenting bad checks must replace them (plus $25.00) with cash, money order or bank check within seven (7) days (one week) of the College’s receipt of such notification.

The applicable charges are subject to change but are expected to be as shown below and on the following pages. Charges for non-credit courses are variable by course.

Installment Payment Plan

An installment payment plan is available to students enrolling for 3 credits or more in the fall and/or spring semesters and select noncredit programs. This plan allows students to defer the payment of tuition beyond the normal due dates, for a fee of $25.00 each semester. Specific information is available in the Bursar’s Office, Kinney Hall.

Special Fees

These include:

  1. An application fee charged to all first-time applicants for admission and first-time non-matriculating students at any Connecticut Community College
$20.00
  1. A program enrollment fee charged to all students applying for matriculation into an academic program except if an application fee has been paid
$20.00
  1. Late payment fee charged for any tuition and fee payment received after the established date
$15.00
  1. Replacement of a lost library/ID card fee is charged to defray the cost of replacing a student’s ID card
$10.00
  1. Returned check fee charged for any checks which are not honored by a banking institution
$25.00
  1. College Level Examination Program (CLEP)
$15.00
(In addition there is a $80 fee payable to The College Board) Proctoring fee $15.00 for CCC students; $35 for non-CCC students
  1. Academic evaluation fee charged to students taking college-produced examinations for the awarding of course credit
$15.00
  1. Portfolio assessment fee
$100.00
  1. TV course fees charged for the support of promotional and other expenses
$0
  1. Proctoring fee
$35.00

Students enrolled in tuition fund courses and/or educational extension fund credit courses carrying 12 semester hours or more will be classified as full-time for general fee purposes.

Waiver of Fees

Fees may be waived under the following conditions:

  • Application fee waiver for students with severe financial need.
  • Fee waivers for special programs for students rendered incapable of paying the fees or benefiting from the services.
  • Fee waivers for students taking TV courses only and who will not use the College facilities.

Waivers of Tuition

Tuition waivers apply to general fund courses only unless otherwise noted.

Dependent Children of Certain Police/Firefighters

Tuition is waived for any dependent child of a police officer, as defined in section 7-294a of the CT General Statutes, or a supernumerary or auxiliary police officer, or firefighter, as defined in section 7-323j, killed in the line of duty.

Persons 62 Years or Older

The application fee and all general fees are waived for any Connecticut resident 62 years of age or older who has been accepted for admission. Tuition is waived for Connecticut residents 62 years of age or over on a space available basis. Special fees other than the application fee must still be paid. Registration under this waiver begins on the first day of the semester/session and is restricted to classes with available seats.

Veteran’s and National Guard Benefits

The Veteran’s Administration provides educational benefits under the following programs:

  • Chapter 30: The Montgomery G.l. Bill
  • Chapter 31: Vocational Rehabilitation
  • Chapter 32: Post Vietnam Veterans Educational
  • Assistance Program (VEAP)
  • Chapter 33: Post 9/11 G.l. Bill
  • Chapter 35: Survivors’ and Dependents’ Education
  • Chapter 1606: Selected Reserve Program
  • Chapter 1607: Reserve Educational Assistance Program (REAP)

Students are advised to make their initial application for VA benefits well in advance of their first semester. Veterans may use their GI Bill benefits during spring, summer and fall semesters.

Eligible students may use VA benefits to pursue a degree or certificate program approved by the CT State Approving Agency and must be enrolled in that program. Courses that the student registers for must fulfill degree requriements. Once a student has registered and paid the appropriate charges for a given semester, the College will certify the student’s enrollment to the VA, which will then pay the appropriate benefits to the student.

Continued certification by the College is contingent on the student’s maintaining satisfactory academic progress toward the completion of program requirements.

Further information on VA benefits available in the Veteran’s Affair Office located within the Financial Aid Office in K512.

Connecticut Veteran’s Tuition Waiver

Under Section 27-103 of the CT General Statutes, the Board of Trustees for the State of Connecticut Community Colleges shall waive the tuition at any community college for eligible CT veterans with military service during time of war. For the purpose of granting a tuition waiver, a veteran is anyone who has served at least 90 days of active duty and has been released from active duty honorably or under honorable conditions.

To use the waiver, a veteran should complete the application in the Veteran’s Affairs Office in K512, present a CT driver’s license and Member 4 copy of the DD-214. Additional information will be provided at that time. The CT Veteran’s Tuition Waiver can not be used for summer classes, winter sessions, or late start programs and does not cover fees or book charges.

National Guard Tuition Waiver

Members of the Connecticut Army and Air National Guard who are in good standing are eligible for a tuition waiver. The waiver can be used during spring and fall semesters only and does not cover fees or book charges.

Guard members must apply for a Certificate of Eligibility from their unit. Members are encouraged to apply early to their unit for the semester they wish to attend. The Certificate of Eligibility is good for one semester only. All guard members must be prepared to make payment arrangements at time of registration if no Certificate of Eligibility is on file with the Veteran’s Affairs Office.

VA Pending Payment Compliance

SEC. 103. DISAPPROVAL FOR PURPOSES OF EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAMS OF DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS AFFAIRS OF CERTAIN COURSES OF EDUCATION THAT DO NOT PERMIT INDIVIDUALS TO ATTEND OR PARTICIPATE IN COURSES PENDING PAYMENT.

(a) IN GENERAL.-Section 3679 of title 38, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the following new subsection:

  1. “(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, beginning on August 1, 2019, a State approving agency, or the Secretary when acting in the role of the State approving agency, shall disapprove a course of education provided by an educational institution that has in effect a policy that is inconsistent with any of the following:
    1. “A policy that permits any covered individual to attend or participate in the course of education during the period beginning on the date on which the individual provides to the educational institution a certificate of eligibility for entitlement to educational assistance under chapter 31 or 33 of this title and ending on the earlier of the following dates:
      1. “The date on which the Secretary provides payment for such course of education to such institution.
      2. “The date that is 90 days after the date on which the educational institution certifies for tuition and fees following receipt from the student such certificate of eligibility.
    2. “A policy that ensures that the educational institution will not impose any penalty, including the assessment of late fees, the denial of access to classes, libraries, or other institutional facilities, or the requirement that a covered individual borrow additional funds, on any covered individual because of the individual’s inability to meet his or her financial obligations to the institution due to the delayed disbursement of a payment to be provided by the Secretary under chapter 31 or 33 of this title.
  2. “For purposes of this subsection, a covered individual is any individual who is entitled to educational assistance under chapter 31 or 33 of this title.
  3. “The Secretary may waive such requirements of paragraph (1) as the Secretary considers appropriate.
  4. “It shall not be inconsistent with a policy described in paragraph (1) for an educational institution to require a covered individual to take the following additional actions:
    1. “Submit a certificate of eligibility for entitlement to educational assistance not later than the first day of a course of education for which the individual has indicated the individual wishes to use the individual’s entitlement to educational assistance.
    2. “Submit a written request to use such entitlement.
    3. “Provide additional information necessary to the proper certification of enrollment by the educational institution.”.

(b) PROMPT PAYMENTS.-

  1. IN GENERAL.-The Secretary of Veterans Affairs shall take such actions as may be necessary to ensure that the Secretary makes a payment to an educational institution on behalf of an individual, who is entitled to educational assistance under chapter 31 or 33 of title 38, United States Code, and who is using such assistance to pursue a program of education at the educational institution, not later than 60 days after the date on which the educational institution certifies to the Secretary the applicable tuition and fees for the individual.
  2. SEMIANNUAL REPORTS.-Not later than May 1 and October 1 of each year, the Secretary shall submit to the Committee on Veterans’ Affairs of the Senate and the Committee on Veterans’ Affairs of the House of Representatives a semiannual report summarizing any cases in which the Secretary failed to make a payment described in paragraph (1) within the period set forth in such paragraph and an explanation for each delayed disbursement of payment.

(c) RULE OF CONSTRUCTION.-In a case in which an individual is unable to meet a financial obligation to an educational institution due to the delayed disbursement of a payment to be provided by the Secretary under chapter 31 or 33 of such title and the amount of such disbursement is less than anticipated, nothing in section 3679(e) of such title, as added by subsection (a), shall be construed to prohibit an educational institution from requiring additional payment or imposing a fee for the amount that is the difference between the amount of the financial obligation and the amount of the disbursement.

Veterans OASIS

The Veterans OASIS is located in S411 and is open Monday through Friday, 7 am - 10 pm; Saturdays, 7 am - 6 pm; and Sundays, 11 am - 6 pm. The Oasis is open to all veterans (all guests must be accompanied by an NVCC veteran student). The Oasis provides a quiet area for networking, homework, and veteran related activities. There are computers and wireless internet available also. For further information, please contact Debbie DiCicco in K512.

Dependent Child or Surviving Spouse of Specified Terrorist Victim

Tuition for General Fund courses are waived for any Connecticut resident who is a dependent child or surviving spouse of a specified terrorist victim who was a resident of Connecticut. A list of said victims is maintained by the State Department of Higher Education.

Dependent Children of Veterans

Dependent children of veterans missing in action or former prisoners of war will have a complete waiver of tuition.

Federal Tax Credits for Educational Expenses

The Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 created two non-refundable education tax credits entitled the Hope Scholarship Credit and the Lifetime Learning Credit. A nonrefundable tax credit allows a taxpayer to subtract from the total amount of taxes owed, the value of the credit that he/she is eligible for. “Nonrefundable” means that you must owe taxes to get the value of the credit (i.e. if you owe $500 in taxes and are eligible for a $1,000 tax credit, you can subtract $500 from the taxes owed).

Hope Scholarship Credit is a non-refundable tax credit that can be claimed for 100 percent of the first $1,000 of out of pocket expenses for each student’s qualified tuition and related expenses, plus 50 percent of the next $1,000. For example, the maximum is a $1,500 tax credit for each student ($2,000 in out-of-pocket expenses).

Credits can also be claimed for other students in the family (a dependent or spouse) who qualify (i.e., a parent goes to school and claims the credit for himself/herself and a child who is a dependent that is also attending a school). The credit is based on a per student basis. As long as the student is eligible, there is no limit on the dollar amount a particular family can be eligible.

Lifetime Learning Credit is a non-refundable tax credit that can be claimed for 20 percent of the first $5,000 of out-of-pocket expenses for a family’s qualified tuition and related expenses. For example, the maximum is a $1,000 tax credit for the entire family. In the year 2003, the amount increases to 20 percent of the first $10,000 ($2,000).

Credits can be claimed for more than one person in the family but not to exceed $1,000 for the entire family ($2,000 in 2003). This is different than the Hope Scholarship Credit; the amount is based on a per family basis rather than a per student basis. There is a dollar limit that a family can be eligible.

You must meet specific income and enrollment guidelines to be eligible. Consult the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 or the Internal Revenue Service for details.

Withdrawals and Refunds

A registered student wishing to withdraw must submit a withdrawal request, in writing, to the Office of the Registrar. The effective date of withdrawal is the date the signed withdrawal is received.

Withdrawals can be made:

  • in person in Waterbury: Office of the Registrar, K516
  • in person in Danbury: Administrative Office, 2nd Floor
  • by mail: NVCC Office of the Registrar K516
  • 750 Chase Parkway, Waterbury, CT 06708
  • Fax: (203) 575-8085
  • On-line: http://mycommnet.edu

Requests must be received by the deadline within the withdrawal period (i.e. requests received by midnight prior to the deadline will be honored).

Refunds of Tuition and Fees

  • Non-refundable Fees
    • The college services fee and student activity fee paid by all students registering for credit general fund/tuition account courses, or credit extension account courses, are non-refundable, except when course sections cancelled by the College would result in a change in fees otherwise due.
  • Also, the following usage fees and special fees are non-refundable:
    • clinical program fee
    • application fee/program enrollment fee
    • late registration fee
    • replacement of lost ID card fee
    • academic evaluation fee
    • portfolio assessment fee
    • lab/studio fees
    • proctoring fee
    • supplemental fee
    • manufacturing fee
  • Refund of Tuition for General Fund Credit Courses
    • For notice of an official drop received prior to the first day for that semester, a refund of 100 percent of total tuition and supplemental fees will be granted for both full- time and parttime students.
    • For notice of withdrawal received on the first day of the semester through the 14th calendar day of that semester, both full-time and part-time students will be granted a 50 percent refund of total tuition and supplemental fees applicable to the courses for which they are registered.
    • For a reduction in load which occurs on the first day of the semester through the 14th calendar day of that semester, 50 percent of the difference of the tuition and supplemental fees applicable to the original and revised course schedule will be refunded.
  • Refund Schedule for Students Enrolling in the Armed Services
    • Upon submitting notice in writing of withdrawal accompanied by a certified copy of enlistment papers, 100 percent refund of tuition and fees will be granted to students entering the armed services before earning degree credit in any semester.
  • Change of Registration
    • When a student has changed his or her course schedule to a different mix of general and extension credit courses, the College may elect not to apply the refund policy which would otherwise be in effect with respect to the course(s) deleted, and may, instead, collect or refund only the net amount due based on the tuition and fee policies applicable to the total student course load.
  • Refund of Fees for Extension Fund Credit Courses
    • Extension fees may be refunded in accordance with the following:
    • A student who withdraws by the last business day before the first day of the semester/session is entitled to a full refund of all extension account fees. A request for withdrawal must be received by the president or his or her designee no later than the end of the last regular business day of the college before the first day of the semester/session.
    • A student reducing his or her extension account course load will be entitled to a full refund of extension account fees appropriate to the course(s) dropped, provided the request for refund is received by the president or his or her designee no later than the end of the last regular business day of the college before the first day of the semester/session.
    • No refund will be made after the first semester/session except in cases of serious illness or other extraordinary circumstances, at the discretion of the college president or his or her designee.
  • Other - Special Waivers
    • The College president is authorized to modify the tuition refund policy for specific students on a case-by-case basis under the following circumstances: severe illness documented by a doctor’s certificate; erroneous advisement by the College; and military transfer. Exceptions which are not normally considered include change in job, normal illness, and poor decision or change in mind by a student. Other extenuating or extraordinary circumstances may also be considered upon written request submitted to the president or his/her designee.
  • Refund Policy for Students Participating in Federal Title IV Student Aid Programs
    • Students who receive federal student aid and withdraw from all classes are subject to the Return of Federal Title IV Funds calculation. This calculation allows you to keep only that portion of federal aid which you earned, based upon the number of calendar days you were in attendance, compared to the number of calendar days in the entire semester.
    • (Example: A student received $1200 in Federal Grants, but withdrew after 40% of the semester. He is said to have “earned” 40% of the grants or $480.00. The remainder of the Grants, or $720.00 is said to be “unearned.”)
    • Any balance remaining after this calculation will be your responsibility to pay back to NVCC. Should you fail to complete payment, you will be referred to the U.S. Department of Education for collection and will no longer be eligible for Title IV funds at any institution.
  • Non-credit Refund Information
    • Withdrawal requests for refund must be received three business days (72 hours) prior to the beginning of class unless stated otherwise in the course description. Refunds are not granted after this deadline. Telephone: 203-575-8029 Fax: 203-575-8243 Email: nc@nv.edu Mail: Non-Credit Refunds, Room F323, Naugatuck Valley Community College, 750 Chase Pkwy., Waterbury, CT 06708
    • If there is a course cancellation due to insufficient enrollment, students will be notified by phone, mail and/or email. Please make sure when registering that your contact information is up-to-date. We would like to offer you the opportunity to transfer to another section, if available, or to another class of your choosing. If we have not heard from you within 7 business days, a refund will automatically be processed. Please allow 2-4 weeks for processing. The person registered in our records system is the person who will receive the refund. The College reserves the right to cancel courses due to insufficient enrollment or other reasonable causes. Full refund is made if the College cancels the course. When registering for a coupon course, cancellation of one class voids the discounted price.
    • Motorcycle course fees are Non-refundable. Students may transfer one-time with a fee of $20.00 and requests must be made FIVE business days prior to the start date of original class. Requests after this time will not be granted.

Tuition and Fee Schedule

Approved by the Board of Regents Effective Fall 2018

Tuition for Fall 2019 has not been officially set by the Connecticut Board of Regents. Any change in tuition and/or fees may result in additional charges for Fall 2019 being assessed on your account at a later date.

Subject to change without notice. Visit nv.edu/pay for current tuition and fee schedule.

In-State Resident Students

Semester Hours Tuition College Services Fee Student Activity Fee Total
1 $163.00 $81.00 $15.00 $259.00
2 $326.00 $88.00 $15.00 $429.00
3 $489.00 $94.00 $15.00 $598.00
4 $652.00 $99.00 $15.00 $766.00
5 $815.00 $118.00 $15.00 $948.00
6 $978.00 $134.00 $15.00 $1,127.00
7 $1,141.00 $152.00 $15.00 $1,308.00
8 $1,304.00 $167.00 $15.00 $1,486.00
9 $1,467.00 $185.00 $15.00 $1,667.00
10 $1,630.00 $200.00 $15.00 $1,845.00
11 $1,793.00 $218.00 $15.00 $2,026.00
12.0 or more * $1,956.00 $236.00 $15.00 $2,212.00
Annual Full-time $3,912.00 $472.00 $20.00 $4,424.00

Out-of-State Non-Resident Students

Semester Hours Tuition College Services Fee Student Activity Fee Total
1 $489.00 $243.00 $15.00 $747.00
2 $978.00 $264.00 $15.00 $1,257.00
3 $1,467.00 $282.00 $15.00 $1,764.00
4 $1,956.00 $297.00 $15.00 $2,268.00
5 $2,445.00 $354.00 $15.00 $2,814.00
6 $2,934.00 $402.00 $15.00 $3,351.00
7 $3,423.00 $456.00 $15.00 $3,894.00
8 $3,912.00 $501.00 $15.00 $4,428.00
9 $4,401.00 $555.00 $15.00 $4,971.00
10 $4,890.00 $600.00 $15.00 $5,505.00
11 $5,379.00 $654.00 $15.00 $6,048.00
12.0 or more ** $5,868.00 $708.00 $20.00 $6,596.00
Annual Full-time $11,736.00 $1,416.00 $40.00 $13,192.00

 

New England Regional Program (NEBHE)

Semester Hours Tuition College Services Fee Student Activity Fee Total
1 $244.50 $121.50 $15.00 $381.00
2 $489.00 $132.00 $15.00 $636.00
3 $733.50 $141.00 $15.00 $889.50
4 $733.50 $148.50 $15.00 $1,141.50
5 $1,222.50 $177.00 $15.00 $1,414.50
6 $1,467.00 $201.00 $15.00 $1,683.00
7 $1,711.50 $228.00 $15.00 $1,954.50
8 $1,956.00 $250.50 $15.00 $2,221.50
9 $2,200.50 $277.50 $15.00 $2,493.00
10 $2,445.00 $300.00 $15.00 $2,760.00
11 $2,689.50 $327.00 $15.00 $3,031.50
12.0 or more * $2,934.00 $354.00 $20.00 $3,308.00
Annual Full-time $5,868.00 $708.00 $40.00 $6,616.00

 

Educational Extension Program Credit Courses

Semester Hours Educational Extension Fee College Services Fee Student Activity Fee Total
1 $176.00 $81.00 $15.00 $272.00
2 $352.00 $88.00 $15.00 $455.00
3 $528.00 $94.00 $15.00 $637.00
4 $704.00 $99.00 $15.00 $818.00
5 $880.00 $118.00 $15.00 $1,013.00
6 $1,056.00 $134.00 $15.00 $1,205.00
7 $1,232.00 $152.00 $15.00 $1,399.00
8 $1,408.00 $167.00 $15.00 $1,590.00
9 $1,584.00 $185.00 $15.00 $1,784.00
10 $1,760.00 $200.00 $15.00 $1,975.00
11 $1,936.00 $218.00 $15.00 $2,169.00
12 $2,112.00 $236.00 $20.00 $2,368.00
13 $2,288.00 $236.00 $20.00 $2,544.00
14 $2,464.00 $236.00 $20.00 $2,720.00
15 $2,640.00 $236.00 $20.00 $2,896.00

 **Excess Credits Tuition Charge: An additional flat tuition charge of $100 per semester shall apply when total registered credits exceed 17 for the semester.

Mandatory Usage Fees, rates effective Fall 2018:

Clinical Program Fee-Level 1 * $487.00 *Per semester, not assessed Material or Supplemental Clinical Program Fee
Clinical Program Fee-Level 2* $359.00  
Advanced Manufacturing Lab Fee $120.00  
Supplemental Course Fee Level 1 ** $102.50 **Per course; level determinded by additional contact hours
Supplemental Course Fee Level 2 ** $205.00  
Material Fee *** $51.00 ***Per course, where applicable

All Tuition and Fees are subject to change